Ingleesh (competition inside!!!!!1!)

I get constantly caught out by loanwords, those words from one language that get incorporated into another with nothing but a shift in pronunciation. English is brilliant for it – pyjama, siesta, bungalow and countless more – but is by no means unique in its linguistic pilferings (or horrendous mispronunciations thereof).

Words

Loanwords are responsible for the times I have looked most stupid in Argentina, because people tend to know they are saying something to me from my own language yet I clearly do not understand it. How stupid am I, right? Of course they’re not necessarily aware of how much they’re distorting the pronunciation – it can be like hearing English from a parallel dimension and it takes several shots to get your ear in.

Here are some of the more memorable ones, with contextual clues in [square brackets] to help you decipher them:

  1. Chii-kei [pâtisserie]
  2. Kata-reen [food]
  3. Fool [sport]
  4. Awrring [plumbing]
  5. Cleep [stationery]
  6. Dih-né [magic]
  7. Deeshei [Fatboy]
  8. CT [Etihad]
  9. Leideedee [Paris]
  10. Chii-pah [cocktail party]

Submit your answers in the comments below – first to get 10 out of 10 gets a cheap, poorly-pronounced prize.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. -Cheescake
    -Catering
    -Foul
    -O-ring
    -Clip
    -???
    -DJ
    -City
    -Lady Di
    -???
    Missed two, I guess I’ll have to wonder what the shitty prize was :/

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.